What does it mean to be native ?

I asked this to myself when I failed on giving a name to those who were not native. Settlers? Immigrants?

How a Yupik native must feel in front of a young Canadian? What are the challenges to preserve their heritage and culture in the 21st century's world? How to reconcile ways of life that seems to be so different at first sight, but inevitably coexist? What does it mean to be indigenous at the time of globalization?

 

Faced with all these questions, I wish to develop a study project that would identify the cultural and social links between peoples who belong to the same migratory history and the problems due to the confrontation between two opposing flows, especially European settlers and the First nations of America.

In 2018, it's important to remember that man has always migrated and that our societies are in no way a static product.

 

This project also aims to promote fundamental and useful visions of the world to face the great changes of our century.

Native populations are a perfect example of adaptation, and although we must not reject technical and technological progress, it is important (and urgent) to get inspiration from their traditional lifestyles, perfectly rooted in their environment, in respect and in harmony with the natural elements.

 

Finally, their conceptions of the world, the figures of their mythology, their language, their tales and all that makes their imagination and constitute their societies are a source of inexhaustible reverie and a vital breath that jostles and nourishes our ideas.

I want to make these stories accessible and make them live. 

  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2019 marie-desurmont.com

Qu’est-ce qu’être autochtone ?

Je me suis posée cette question ne sachant comment nommer ceux qui n'étaient pas autochtones, justement. Des colons ? Des immigrés ? 

Comment se positionne un jeune natif yupik face à un jeune canadien ? Quels sont les enjeux de la préservation de leur patrimoine et de leur culture dans le monde du 21ème siècle ? Comment concilier des modes de vies que tout semble opposer mais qui, fatalement, cohabitent ? Que signifie être autochtone à l'heure de la mondialisation ? 

 

Face à toutes ces questions, je souhaite développer un projet d’étude qui identifierait les liens culturels et sociaux entre les peuples qui appartiennent à une même histoire migratoire et les problématiques que pose la confrontation entre deux flux opposés, notamment celle des colons européens en Amérique.

En 2019, il est important de rappeler que l’homme a toujours migré et que nos sociétés ne sont en rien un produit statique.

Ce projet a également l'ambition de promouvoir des visions du monde fondamentales et utiles pour faire face aux grands changements de notre siècle. 

Les populations natives sont un exemple parfait d'adaptation, et bien qu'il ne faille pas rejeter le progrès technique et technologique, il est important (et urgent) de s'inspirer de leur modes de vies traditionnels, parfaitement ancrés dans leur environnement, dans le respect et en harmonie avec les éléments naturels. 

Enfin, leurs conceptions du monde, les figures de leur mythologie, leur langue, leurs contes et tout ce qui fait leur imaginaire et constitue leurs sociétés sont une source de rêverie inépuisable et un souffle vital qui bouscule et nourrit nos idées.

Je veux rendre ces récits accessibles et les faire vivre. 

 

  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2019 marie-desurmont.com